Get it Straight

I have seriously been considering getting my hair straightened using a technique called Japanese Straightening or Thermal Reconditioning.

I am one of those people with curly hair... not wavy, not semi-curly, but CURLY. It's not bad really, but after using my Revlon Pro-straightener to straighten it at least twice a week (on a setting of 20), everyone I come across tells me how amazing my hair looks straight. As much as I like my natural hair, and as against as I am on altering what is natural, I can't resist the compliments. So if I can convince my friend to come with me, and another Korean friend to haggle with the hair stylists on charging me less, I may get my hair thermally reconditioned.

In the mean time, I have to rave about my straightener. No doubt, using a metal straightener like my Revlon one is not safe for hair when over-used. Personally, I straighten it once/twice a week and figure the damage is similar to blow drying everyday. But that's just me. I should invest in a ceramic straightener. It's safer for hair, and apparently works better too.

said jagg-ed on 2003-08-04 at 10:47 a.m.